Advisory boards at Penn date back to 1928 when the Statutes of the Corporation, which outline governance procedures for the University, were amended to allow for constituent boards to provide counsel for each of the University’s faculties. In 1972, the trustees and the president decided to build on this earlier precedent by establishing Boards of Overseers.

The Penn Athletics Board of Overseers serves as bridge between Department of Recreation and Intercollegiate Athletics and the community beyond campus boundaries. Although Athletic Overseers do not have fiduciary responsibility, the President, Provost, Board of Trustees and Penn's Atheltic Director rely heavily on this group of individuals to provide counsel and stewardship in matters related to athletics and recreation.

In addition, the Athletics Overseer Board is an important component of the Penn volunteer leadership structure and is essential to the athletic department's ability to engage volunteers at various levels. The Athletic Board of Overseers is comprised of four subcommittees:

  • Steering Committee
  • Competitive Performance
  • Student-Athlete Experience
  • Recreation/Club Sports

The Board of Overseers is resource for identifying and cultivating leaders who may eventually serve on the Board of Trustees, and for providing existing or former trustees with an opportunity to lend their expertise to Penn Athletics.  The Penn Champions Club cannot thank them enough for their commitment and leadership of Penn Athletics.

Current Athletic Overseers:

Charles B. Leitner III, Chair, C'81
Benjamin A. Breier, C'93 W'93
David M. Brush, C'82
James S. Cohen, W'80
William J. Constantine, C'66, WG'68
James H. Greene, Jr., W'72 (Vice Chair)
Clay W. Hamlin III, W'67, WG'72
T. Gibbs Kane, Jr., W'69
Paul K. Kelly, C'62, WG'64
Gerald D. Knorr, W'82 WG'86
J. Douglas Kramer, W'92
Robert J. LeFort, C'76
Catherine M. O'Hern Lyons, C'86
Ellen V. Masseur, C'90
Clinton A. Matter, C'97, W'97 (Vice Chair)
Scott S. Meuser, W'84
Anthony Noto, WG'99
Helen Frame Peters, CW'70, G'74, GR'79
David S. Pottruck, C'70, WG'72 (Emeritus)
H. Elliott Rogers, Jr., C'72, WG'75
Adria M. Sheth, C'97
John P. Shoemaker, C'87
Howard A. Silverstein, W'69
D. David Slosburg, W'74
Tracey Pearl Specter, C'84
Ron Wainshal, W'86
Mark B. Werner, C'80 (Vice Chair)
George A. Weiss, W'65 HON'14 (Emeritus)
Jeffrey Charles Young, C'86